Text Size:

You are here: Home  »  Your Council  »  The Council  »  Your Councillors

Your Councillors

The council is made up of 48 councillors elected every four years. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their area, known as a ward.

Councillors usually belong to a political party. Currently, Chesterfield Borough Council is made up of 38 Labour councillors, nine Liberal Democrats and one UKIP councillor. 

While councillors have to represent the interests of all residents in the borough, they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Councillors have to agree to follow a code of conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties. The Standards and Audit Committee trains and advises councillors on the code of conduct.

The Chesterfield area also has other councils: Derbyshire County Council and two parish councils, Brimington Parish Councils and Staveley Town Council. We are required to publish information about registered interests of the councillors serving on the parish councils. Click here for more information.

Complete our online enquiry form.

Phone or text
Tel: 01246 345 345
Text: 07960 910 264

In person
Customer Service Centre
85 New Square
Chesterfield S40 1SN

8.30am to 5pm on Mon, Tue, Thu
10am to 5pm on Wed
8.30am to 4.30pm on Fri
9am to midday on Sat for payments

By post
Chesterfield Borough Council
Town Hall
Rose Hill
Chesterfield S40 1LP

Social Media
  • facebook 
  • YouTube
  • flickr
  • E-Mail