Tell us what you think about our site...

General election 2019

General election 2019

A parliamentary general election will take place on Thursday 12 December 2019.

During a general election, voters select one candidate to be their MP and serve in the House of Commons for their constituency. The candidate who gets the most votes becomes the MP for that area until the next election.

Details of the candidates standing at this election, their agents, and locations of polling stations are available below.

You can see details of the current MP for Chesterfield here.

  • The deadline to register to vote, and to apply to vote by post in this election, is Tuesday 26 November. Find out more here.

Find out about:

Postal voting papers will be delivered between 26 November and 5 December.   

Register to vote in this election

To vote at this election your name must appear on the register of electors. 

If you are not registered, or you have recently moved house or changed your personal details, then you will need to register to vote. Register quickly online on the Register to Vote website, or download and print out a registration form. You can also contact the elections team to ask for a paper form to be posted to you.

The last date to register to vote for this election is Tuesday 26 November 2019

You don’t need to register again if you’ve already registered to vote.

Voting by post or proxy

The deadline to apply for an ordinary postal vote for this election is 5pm on Tuesday 26 November 2019.  

The deadline to apply for an ordinary proxy vote is 5pm on Wednesday 4 December 2019.

Print out a form to apply for a proxy or postal vote here or contact the elections team to ask for a paper form to be posted to you. 

We will be delivering postal voting papers between 26 November and 4 December.

Contact the electoral services team

If you you are unable to print one out yourself, we can send you a form for registering to vote, or to apply for a postal or proxy vote - email or telephone 01246 345290/345228. 

Forms should be returned by the deadlines shown above to:  Chesterfield Borough Council, Elections Office, Town Hall, Chesterfield, S40 1LP. 


  • Emily Jane Coy - Liberal Democrats
  • John Noneoftheabove Daramy - Independent
  • Leigh Higgins - The Conservative Party Candidate
  • Neil Jackson - Green Party
  • Matthew Toby Perkins - Labour Party
  • John Scotting - Brexit Party

Election notices

Notice of UK Parliamentary Election for the Constituency of Chesterfield 2019 (pdf 65 KB)
Statement of Persons Nominated and Notice of Poll - General Election 2019 (pdf 71 KB)
Notice of Election Agents - General Election 2019 (pdf 67 KB)
Situation of Polling Stations - General Election 2019 (pdf 79 KB)


Last updated on 20 November 2019