Tell us what you think about our site...

Sheffield City Region devolution area

Sheffield City Region devolution area

  • Chesterfield Borough Council’s leader has pulled the council’s devolution bid to avoid an unnecessary waste of public money on a referendum called by Derbyshire County Council’s leader Councillor Barry Lewis.

    Find out more about this decision here.

    Please note: other information on this page may now be out of date, and will be amended.

The Sheffield City Region deal covers Sheffield, Rotherham, Doncaster and Barnsley, as well as Chesterfield, Derbyshire Dales, North East Derbyshire, Bolsover and Bassetlaw.

A devolution deal has been agreed with the government for the Sheffield City Region; this would transfer national powers and control over funding from national government departments, as well as securing a massive £900 million additional cash boost over the next 30 years, with at least £484 million over five years, to deliver major regeneration, infrastructure and business growth schemes.

A requirement of the Sheffield City Region deal is that the authorities involved should be part of a joint decision-making body called a ‘mayoral combined authority’.

We would be part of the combined authority but still be an independent organisation, making our own decisions. The mayoral combined authority would only make decisions affecting the Sheffield City Region devolution deal.

The Sheffield City Region area must have a directly elected mayor, covering the full membership geography of the Sheffield City Region (made up of Chesterfield, Bassetlaw, Sheffield, Barnsley, Doncaster and Rotherham).

The directly elected mayor would not replace Chesterfield’s own civic mayor. They would only be responsible for functions that are specifically part of the devolution deal (such as transport policy, and major developments).

Chesterfield is also a non-constituent member of the North Midlands: Nottinghamshire Derbyshire Combined Authority area. This area doesn’t have a devolution deal but the councils are working together on key economic issues.

Councillors in Derbyshire Dales, North East Derbyshire and Bolsover voted to be non-constituent members of the Sheffield City Region devolution deal and full members of the North Midlands Combined Authority area.

Councillors in Bassetlaw, in north Nottinghamshire, joined Chesterfield in voting to be a full member of the Sheffield City Region devolution deal and a non-constituent member of the North Midlands Combined Authority area.

Last updated on 13 June 2017