Tell us what you think about our site...


Labour retains control of Chesterfield Borough Council

Labour has retained control of Chesterfield Borough Council in the local elections held on Thursday 2 May 2019.

Labour has won 28 seats on the council, with 17 seats for the Liberal Democrats and three seats for independent members.

Labour has seven fewer seats than before the election and the Liberal Democrats have seven more seats.

Councillors elected by ward are:

Barrow Hill and New Whittington ward – three seats

  • Barry Bingham (LD)
  • Paul Robert Holmes (LD)
  • Kelly Marie Thornton (LD)

Brimington North ward – two seats

  • Terry Gilby (Lab)
  • Suzie Francis Perkins (Lab)

Brimington South ward – three seats

  • Andy Bellamy (Lab)
  • Ian William Callan (Lab)
  • Tricia Gilby (Lab)

Brockwell ward – three seats

  • Maureen Davenport (LD)
  • Ed Fordham (LD)
  • Katherine Elizabeth Hollingworth (LD)

Dunston ward – three seats

  • Janice Marie Marriott (Lab)
  • Mark David Rayner (Lab)
  • Gordon Simmons (Lab)

Hasland ward – three seats

  • Mick Brady (Lab)
  • Stuart Brittain (Lab)
  • Amanda Serjeant (Lab)

Hollingwood and Inkersall ward – three seats

  • Mick Bagshaw (Ind)
  • Paul Alan Mann (Ind)
  • Ruth Marina Perry (Ind)

Holmebrook ward – two seats

  • Glenys Falconer (LD)
  • Keith Falconer (LD)

Linacre ward – two seats

  • Peter Ian Barr (LD)
  • Emily Jane Coy (LD)

Loundsley Green ward – two seats

  • Ray Catt (Lab)
  • Avis Joan Murphy (Lab)

Lowgates and Woodthorpe ward – two seats

  • Dean Collins (Lab)
  • Lisa Kelly Collins (Lab)

Middlecroft and Poolsbrook ward – two seats

  • Barry Dyke (Lab)
  • Chris Ludlow (Lab)

Moor ward – two seats

  • Kate Caulfield (Lab)
  • Tony Rogers (LD)

Old Whittington ward – two seats

  • Jean Mary Innes (Lab)
  • Peter Innes (Lab)

Rother ward – three seats

  • Lisa Danielle Blakemore (Lab)
  • Jenny Flood (Lab)
  • Keith Miles (Lab)

St Helen’s ward – two seats

  • Jill Mannion-Brunt (Lab)
  • Tom Murphy (Lab)

St Leonard’s ward – three seats

  • Sharon Lesley Blank (Lab)
  • Dan Kelly (Lab)
  • Kate Sarvent (Lab)

Walton ward – three seats

  • Maggie Kellman (LD)
  • Nick Redihough (LD)
  • Tom Snowdon (LD)

West ward – three seats

  • Howard Borrell (LD)
  • Paul Adam Niblock (LD)
  • Shirley Anne Niblock (LD)

The turnout was 31.47 per cent.

In her speech after the event, Chesterfield Borough Council’s leader, Councillor Tricia Gilby, said: “I am proud to have been re-elected leader of Chesterfield Borough Council.

“Although with seven out of ten people not voting, no party can say they are winning here.

“The majority party has heard the messages and we intend to do all we can to deliver on our pledges and win people back to the ballot box.”

For a full list of results, visit

First published on 03 May 2019 Last updated on 17 May 2019