Stages one to ten

Stages one to ten

All our lessons are delivered by highly qualified and motivated staff in a safe and fun environment.

Our swimming lessons follow the Swim England national teaching plan to provide quality assured and structured lessons.

Swimming assessments are carried out on an on-going basis, to ensure children are continually learning and moving up through the stages, which happens when they have reached the required level of proficiency.

To ensure progressive development, our classes run 50 weeks a year, with payments made in 12-week blocks or via monthly direct debit.

Please check our timetables for details of lessons at both our centres.

See our full price list for current charges for swimming lessons.

Did you know - children booked on to our swimming lesson courses can enjoy free leisure swimming (during the current course dates) when swimming with a paying adult.


Stages 1 to 7

The Learn to Swim stage 1 to 7 awards are divided into progressive stages. They make up the core, national syllabus of learning to swim for primary school aged children.

They are designed to reward your child for their development of the essential aquatic skills they need to be confident, competent and safe in the water.

See our parents' guide to swimming lessons to see what your child will learn at each stage and the skills they will need to move on.


Stage 8 to 10

Learn to Swim stages 8 to 10 continue the swimmer’s journey past Learn to Swim Stage 7 of the Learn to Swim Framework.

This is where we also partner Chesterfield Swimming Club with our Swim Chesterfield Academy

Last updated on 17 December 2021