Tell us what you think about our site...

Your councillors

Your councillors

The council is made up of 48 councillors elected every four years. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their area, known as a ward.

Councillors usually belong to a political party. Currently, Chesterfield Borough Council is made up of 37 Labour councillors, 9 Liberal Democrat councillors, and 2 independent councillors. 

While councillors have to represent the interests of all residents in the borough, they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Councillors have to agree to follow a code of conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties. The Standards and Audit Committee trains and advises councillors on the code of conduct.

Cabinet members and portfolios (pdf 580 KB)
Councillors 2015 19 Revised November 2017 (pdf 713 KB)

The Chesterfield area also has other councils: Derbyshire County Council and two parish councils, Brimington Parish Councils and Staveley Town Council. We are required to publish information about registered interests of the councillors serving on the parish councils. Click here for more information.

Last updated on 05 December 2017